IndianRunner Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/ Wed, 23 May 2018 23:42:52 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Wed, May 23, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-23-2018.html <p>AM- 10 miles easy. 7:44 average. Worked on cadence and form the last mile.</p> <p>PM- 3 miles easy plus core.</p> Wed, 23 May 2018 06:00:00 Tue, May 22, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-22-2018.html <p>AM- No warmup, 3 mile tempo: 6:14, 6:10, 6:14. Should have done a warmup before, but I was trying to see how I would feel without a mile warmup or so. Definitely feel better with a solid warmup. Finished off with an easy 6 miles afterward.</p> Tue, 22 May 2018 06:00:00 Mon, May 21, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-21-2018.html <p>No running today. Day off.</p> Mon, 21 May 2018 06:00:00 Sun, May 20, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-20-2018.html <p>AM- 10 miles on the hotel TM. Last day at the Crossfit Regionals, it&rsquo;s been a fun weekend.</p> Sun, 20 May 2018 06:00:00 Sat, May 19, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-19-2018.html <p>AM- 8 miles easy on the hotel TM. 7:28 average pace. Pretty solid first two weeks of this training block, and I am excited to get in some really good workouts over the next month.</p> Sat, 19 May 2018 06:00:00 Fri, May 18, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-18-2018.html <p>AM- 6 miles easy. 7:40 average. Headed to Salt Lake for the weekend.</p> Fri, 18 May 2018 06:00:00 Thu, May 17, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-17-2018.html <p>AM- 15 mile long run this morning. Legs were a little bit heavy and tired, but weather was nice and got it in. I decided to do my long run today, because I will be out of town this weekend, and I don&#39;t know how much running I will be able to get in.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 17 May 2018 06:00:00 Wed, May 16, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-16-2018.html <p>AM- 4 mile warmup, then got right into my hill workout. 10 x 1 minute hills, w/ jog down recovery. Felt stronger on them today than last time, and really tried to focus on form and turnover. Mile cooldown afterward.</p> <p>PM- 2 mile easy shakeout on the tready, weights and core afterward.</p> Wed, 16 May 2018 06:00:00 Tue, May 15, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-15-2018.html <p>AM- 10 recovery miles out on the Diamond Moutain Road. Legs are a bit tired from the Dino Half, but overall my cold seems to be better today and I felt good. 7:51 average.</p> Tue, 15 May 2018 06:00:00 Mon, May 14, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-14-2018.html <p>AM- Been coming down with a cold since last Thursday, and it was at its worst yesterday. Decided to Crossfit today, and get in some good core, weights, and finished off with a 32 minute amrap of double unders and assault bike intervals. I will try to run tomorrow as long as my cold is getting better.</p> Mon, 14 May 2018 06:00:00 Sun, May 13, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-13-2018.html <p>AM- Went on a 2 mile walk with my dad and the dog. Had some good conversations, while Pickles chased some bird, chipmunks, and even a deer. Might be going fishing later today for my birthday, so that should be fun. Besides that, no running, barbeque, cake, and ice cream.</p> Sun, 13 May 2018 06:00:00 Sat, May 12, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-12-2018.html <p>RACE- Decided to finally run the Dino Half Marathon, because, even though I live in Vernal, I haven&#39;t ever ran the Dino. Got my packet, ate a good dinner, and made sure to get to bed early. Woke up at 4:30, and got to the bus pickup by 6. I am glad that I waited for one of the last buses to get to the starting line, because it was a little chilly up in the canyon. Half mile warmup with dynamics, and then we were off. I didn&#39;t really know exactly what I wanted, time-wise, for this race, but I just decided to go with whatever my body felt like doing. From the start of the race, two guys made a big surge to the front, and kept the lead. After about 3 miles in, I passed one of the front runners, putting me in third, which is the position I held for practically the rest of the race. I was really happy with how consistent my splits were throughout the race, because I didn&#39;t think that 6:00-6:05 miles were going to happen today. Both lungs and legs felt really good for practically the entire race, and I caught up with the guy who was in second place with about a mile to go. I then maintained my pace, and came in with a time of 1:19:51, which is my third sub 1:20 half. Overall a really good race put on by the Runtastic group, and after the race, I ran into Rob Murphy, who I didn&#39;t even realize was running the Dino Half. Really nice guy, and quite the fast runner for his age group. What I really love about running, is being able to be a part of a community, and having the opportunity to connect with runners from different backgrounds and talent levels. Overall a very fun race!</p> Sat, 12 May 2018 06:00:00 Fri, May 11, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-11-2018.html <p>AM- 3 miles shakeout. 7:21 average pace. I am running the Dino Half Marathon tomorrow, but it isn&#39;t really a race that I care to perform super well at, so it might turn into a good progression long run.</p> Fri, 11 May 2018 06:00:00 Thu, May 10, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-10-2018.html <p>AM- 3 mile warmup, then a quick fartlek session: 3 x (90, 60, 30) seconds w/ equal recovery. Felt pretty good, and glad to see the cadence pick up a bit on the surges. 3 miles cooldown afterward.</p> <p>PM- 2 mile shakeout on the TM.</p> Thu, 10 May 2018 06:00:00 Wed, May 09, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-09-2018.html <p>AM- 10 miles easy 7:40 average.</p> <p>PM- 2 miles slow jog</p> Wed, 09 May 2018 06:00:00 Tue, May 08, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-08-2018.html <p>AM- 1.2 mile warmup, drills and strides, then rolled right into a 3 mile tempo. Splits were: 6:03, 6:07, and 6:13. Felt pretty good. Did a longer cooldown of 5 miles afterward.</p> <p>PM- 3 miles easy shakeout on the TM. Pretty hot outside.</p> Tue, 08 May 2018 06:00:00 Mon, May 07, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-07-2018.html <p>Day off, no running today.</p> Mon, 07 May 2018 06:00:00 Sun, May 06, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-06-2018.html <p>AM- Easy 8 miles on my one mile loop route. 7:43 average. Legs were kinda tired, but not too bad.</p> Sun, 06 May 2018 06:00:00 Sat, May 05, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-05-2018.html <p>PM- Easy 4 miles on the TM, then finished up with a crossfit workout. For time, 50-40-30-20-10 of double unders, dumbell snatches, situps, and calories on the assault bike. Finished in 24:10 for that workout. Legs are pretty tired now.</p> Sat, 05 May 2018 06:00:00 Fri, May 04, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-04-2018.html <p>AM- Solid workout today, forgot to charge my garmin last night, so it was totally dead when I woke up, so no strava data for today&#39;s run. I had to go over to Lapoint today to help my grandparents mow and put some gravel down on their rock garden. Decided to go over early, and do a workout on their dirt road, which is about a mile down and back. 2 mile warmup, then 3 x 1 mile w/ 2:30 recovery in between. I wanted them to feel hard, but also be able to have good form and not break down. I have no idea what my splits were, because of my watch being dead, and I didn&#39;t have a stop watch, but I do think that they were at a good effort level. Finished off, by running around different streets of Lapoint for a good cooldown.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 04 May 2018 06:00:00 Thu, May 03, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-03-2018.html <p>AM- 8 miles easy, out by the church, down to the golf course, and back home. 7:41 average. Felt good.</p> Thu, 03 May 2018 06:00:00 Wed, May 02, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-02-2018.html <p>AM- Rainy morning, so had to do my tempo on the TM. Mile warmup, 4 mile tempo progression: 6:23, 6:21, 6:16, 6:05. Mile cooldown. Strides and core work afterward.</p> <p>PM- 3 mile shakeout. Didn&#39;t take my watch, just went by feel.</p> Wed, 02 May 2018 06:00:00 Tue, May 01, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-01-2018.html <p>AM- 8 miles easy progession run. 7:22 average pace.</p> Tue, 01 May 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 30, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-30-2018.html <p>AM- Easy 7 miles. Excited to start training again, and make a good buildup over the next few months.</p> Mon, 30 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 28, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-28-2018.html <p>PM- 3.5 mile easier progression run. 6:53, 6:27, 6:14. Felt good today, and I am ready to start back into my full training next week.</p> Sat, 28 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 26, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-26-2018.html <p>AM- 3 miles easy out towards the church and back.</p> Thu, 26 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 25, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-25-2018.html <p>AM- Hard workout this morning, was on the the crossfit mainsite page last night, and came across a workout that I wanted to try. For Time: 25-50-75-100-75-50-25 calories assault bike and calories on the rower. Took me a little bit longer than I thought it would, but finished it up in a little over 67 minutes. I could really tell that my legs were starting to fatigue in the last 15-20 minutes. Overall a good workout.</p> Wed, 25 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 24, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-24-2018.html <p>PM- Wasn&#39;t going to get in a run today, but decided to get on the roads for a couple of easy miles with a faster mile in the middle. Did a mile easy, 1 mile up tempo in 6:03, and then a mile easy cooldown.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 24 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 23, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-23-2018.html <p>AM- 4 miles easy. Legs are not that sore, excepts for my hamstrings are a little bit tight. Taking this week as a down week, and then next week, I will start my next training block.</p> <p>PM- Crossfit workout, consisting of burpees and the assault bike</p> Mon, 23 Apr 2018 06:00:00