IndianRunner Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/ Sun, 22 Jul 2018 23:46:30 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sun, Jul 22, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-22-2018.html <p>AM- 5.3 miles moderate from Aggie and down Maine. Wanted to go a little faster in certain sections for one last little tune-up before Deseret. 6:43 average pace.</p> Sun, 22 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 20, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-20-2018.html <p>PM- Ran the O.U.R 5k on Aggie Blvd. There were quite a few people doing it, so it was good to catch up with some friends that I haven&#39;t seen in quite a while. Did about a mile warmup with Ty before the race with a few strides. I was basically in second place the entire race, and was kind of in no man&#39;s land as far as being able to push myself. Legs were pretty stiff, even though breathing felt great up to the first mile, which was 5:35. Slowed down quite a bit after that, 6:09 second mile. Tried to push the last stretch of the round-about, but couldn&#39;t get anything going. Course was short, and ended up being exactly 3 miles. I was feeling like I could hold that 5:35-5:40 pace for the entire run, but just started to lose it after the first mile. Overall a fun race to do at night, and a pretty good workout for the body. Only have one more 5k race at Deseret News for my 5k training block. After the race, I ran home for a longer cooldown. I really like running down Maine Street at night.</p> Fri, 20 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 19, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-19-2018.html <p>AM- 3 mile shakeout before an awesome fishing trip up to Cliff Lake. Long day and I am quite tired now, but definitely glad I was able to go have a great day with the family from Montana.</p> Thu, 19 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 18, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-18-2018.html <p>AM- 10 recovery miles out on Brush Creek Road. 7:36 average pace.</p> Wed, 18 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 17, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-17-2018.html <p>AM- Little bit of stretching and rolling out, then did a little over a 5 mile &quot;up tempo&quot; workout from Aggie and down Maine. 6:10 average pace. Felt a little tight but loosened up as the run went on. Cooldown to get to 10.3 for the day.</p> Tue, 17 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 16, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-16-2018.html <p>AM- 10 miles easy from Brush Creek to home. Nice overcast this morning, so it felt good to have a cool morning run. 7:18 average pace.</p> Mon, 16 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 15, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-15-2018.html <p>AM- 2 mile warmup on the track, then 12 x 200m + 1 x 400m w/ 200m jog in between. Felt really good during the entire workout, and I was glad that I was able to get in some speed work during it. I threw in 400 towards the end of the workout, just to see how it would feel. Long cooldown afterward to get in some extra mileage.</p> Sun, 15 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 14, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-14-2018.html <p>AM- 5.3 starting from Aggie and going down Maine. Felt much better today. 7:13 average pace.</p> Sat, 14 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 13, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-13-2018.html <p>AM- Not feeling 100% today, but much better than the last couple of days after the cystocsopy. Just did an easy 6 miles then 60 minutes of biking fairly hard. The 6 miles was basically just a light jog at around 9 minute pace or slower, because it hurts to go any faster. Frustrating, because I am towards the end of my 5k training, and I was planning on getting in some faster workouts this week, but I guess that won&#39;t be happening for a couple of days. Possibly will be able to get in a faster run tomorrow and maybe a little bit of speed work next week.</p> Fri, 13 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jul 12, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-12-2018.html <p>PM- Easy treadmill run.&nbsp;Been out of the loop for a little bit, because I had to get a cystoscopy done to check for the possibility of a urinary tract infection. Probably one of the worst pains I have had in a long time. Luckily don&#39;t have any problems down there, but have had a lot of pains in the last 48 hours, so I didn&#39;t run yesterday and barely got through my run this evening. Will hopefully be better tomorrow.</p> Thu, 12 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 10, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-10-2018.html <p>AM- 10 miles easy starting by Brush Creek and going on the Diamond Mountain Road towards home. Pretty hot out at the start of the run, but got some good overcast and a nice breeze towards the end of the run. 7:22 average pace.</p> Tue, 10 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 08, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-08-2018.html <p>AM- Did a 4 mile tempo on the junior high track this morning. Not much of a warmup before this one, just some short strides and light stretching. Splits were 6:02, 5:58, 5:58, 5:59. Pretty consistent with pacing this morning, considering that it was really hot for 8 am. 2 mile cooldown afterward.</p> <p>PM- 3 mile shakeout between math sessions, and before it gets to hot. 7:25 average. Felt good to loosen the legs up some more.</p> Sun, 08 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jul 07, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-07-2018.html <p>AM- 6 miles easy recovery. Went up to Rock Springs today for a family friends birthday party. Fun times visiting with their family, and it was nice to take the drive up through Flaming Gorge for the day.</p> Sat, 07 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jul 06, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-06-2018.html <p>AM- 10 miles at right around marathon effort starting from Brush Creek and going through the Buckskin Hills area. Quite hilly throughout the run, and threw in a couple of pickup miles towards the end. 6:44 average pace.</p> Fri, 06 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jul 04, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-04-2018.html <p>AM- Woke up fairly early to give myself some time to get a small breakfast in and do some light stretching. Blood sugar was somewhat high this morning, and when it is higher on race mornings, it is sometimes hard to know how to take care of it (because of the possibility of having a low blood sugar during the race). Dosed a little extra bit of insulin. Jogged down to the race area and warmed up with Sasha for a little bit and got in plenty of strides and drills afterward. Went out and tried sticking with Sasha and some of the front runners, 5:45 first mile. Kept going to the turn around and tried to pick it up, 5:40 second mile. At this point, I was feeling really good, but started to fade a little on the third mile, 5:53. I was really happy with how I performed on this race, and my effort level on it. Always a fun and great race to participate in every year. Short cooldown afterward.</p> <p>PM- Easy 4 miles on the tready after the drive home. Good to shake the legs out a little bit.</p> Wed, 04 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jul 03, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-03-2018.html <p>AM- 5 miles easy w/ strides and drills. 7:31 average</p> Tue, 03 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jul 02, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-02-2018.html <p>AM- 8.2 easy miles on the one mile loop by my house.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 02 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 01, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-01-2018.html <p>AM- 5 mile progression cutdown workout today. Increasing the pace each mile, until I get down to 6 minute pace or faster. Mile splits were: 7:01, 6:30, 6:21, 6:03, 5:56. Breathing and the legs felt pretty good.</p> <p>PM- 40 minute assault bike. Picked up the watts in the last 10 minutes of the ride.</p> Sun, 01 Jul 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 29, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-29-2018.html <p>AM- 5 miles moderate to steady state on the Diamond Mountain Road. Was conidering a total rest day today, because of my high blood sugar levels and how it tends to break down my body at times, but woke up feeling really good, so got in a solid 5 miles. 6:55 average pace.</p> <p>PM- 5.3 miles from Aggie and down Maine. Felt good. 7:36 average.</p> Fri, 29 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 28, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-28-2018.html <p>AM- My blood sugars have been really high for the last few days, and I was planning on doing a tempo run today. Since I was super dehydrated from the high blood sugar and wasn&#39;t feeling well, I ended up running a shakeout on the treadmill and biking a little bit. Might have to take tomorrow off, and get my blood sugar levels under control. Really wanted to get in a quality run today though. Oh well there is always tomorrow.</p> Thu, 28 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 27, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-27-2018.html <p>AM- Went to breakfast with the fam, did some school work, then headed out for a 5 mile shakeout run. 7:51 average.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 27 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 26, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-26-2018.html <p>AM- 8 miles starting from Murray Park, and going down State Street for an out and back run. 7:33 average pace.</p> <p>PM- 4 miles on the treadmill when I got home from Salt Lake. Legs were stiff from the car ride, but overall felt good. Too hot outside for an evening run, was like 98 degrees when I got home.</p> Tue, 26 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 25, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-25-2018.html <p>AM- 3 mile shakeout. 7:23 average.&nbsp;</p> <p>PM- 2 mile shakeout down by Murray Park. Very hot today.</p> Mon, 25 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 24, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-24-2018.html <p>AM- Hard assault bike sprints for about 40 minutes, then finished off with some power cleans and push press with the barbell.&nbsp;</p> <p>PM- 5.3 miles from Aggie. 7:07 average.</p> Sun, 24 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 23, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-23-2018.html <p>Mostly easy miles with a faster finish towards the end of the run working down to 5:30 pace. Around 7:25 average.</p> Sat, 23 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 22, 2018 http://kenny.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-22-2018.html <p>AM-&nbsp;Forgot to charge the watch. Easy 7 followed by several strides and drills. Body is a little wrecked from mowing several lawns, running, playing basketball, and finishing pharmacy tech labs yesterday.</p> Fri, 22 Jun 2018 06:00:00